Verizon Wireless, U.S. Cellular Execs Among CTIA Officers for 2013

The CTIA-The Wireless Association board of directors has named its officers for 2013.

Elected to a one-year term starting Jan. 1 are: Mary Dillon, president and CEO of U.S. Cellular, chairperson; Dan Mead, president and CEO of Verizon Wireless, vice chairman; Angel Ruiz, president and CEO of Ericsson, secretary; Bret Comolli, chairman of Asurion, treasurer; and Pat Riordan, president and CEO of Cellcom, chairman emeritus.

CTIA also named new members to its executive committee, including: Ron Smith, president of Bluegrass Cellular (small carrier); F.J. Pollak, president and CEO of Tracfone Wireless (midsize carrier); Dan Inbar, senior VP & general manager, OEM of SanDisk Corp. (other supplier); John Sims, president of Sybase 365 (other supplier); Jeff Gordon, president and CEO of Syniverse Technologies (other supplier). Their one-year term also begins Jan. 1, 2013.

"The wireless industry plays an important role in America’s economic vitality and makes our personal and work lives better by improving how we interact from wireless technology in other sectors, such as health care, education, transportation and more. That’s why the ‘light regulatory touch’ that has been in place for the industry since President Clinton’s tenure is vital," said Steve Largent, president and CEO of CTIA. "By having these individuals provide their in-depth expertise and leadership to our executive committee, I am confident we will continue to be successful advocates for more critically needed spectrum and for the ‘light regulatory touch’ so the U.S. remains the world’s leader in wireless technology, services and products."

Follow editor Craig Galbraith on Twitter



Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The ID is: 85800