COMPTEL Elects New Board Members

COMPTEL PLUS — Members of COMPTEL have elected 13 companies to serve on its board of directors for the 2010-2012 term. The election took place during the association’s annual membership meeting. These newly elected board members join the 15 others who are currently serving their 2009-2011 terms.

Joe Ambersley, a founding officer of PAETEC Communications, has been re-elected to his second consecutive term as chairman. The board also re-elected Julia Strow, co-founder of Cbeyond, as vice chairman, and Jim Butman, group president of Marketing, Sales and Customer Operations at TDS Metrocom, as treasurer. Rounding out the executive committee are four at-large members: Dan Dooley, president of Sprint Wholesale Solutions; J. Sherman Henderson III, president and CEO of Lightyear Network Solutions; Deborah Ward, CEO of TSI; and Jerry Watts, vice president of Government and Industry Affairs at Deltacom.

Companies elected to the board for the 2010-2012 term include:

Small Member Category

  • FastTrack Communications – Steven Dorf, CEO
  • Fiber Tower – Kurt van Wagenen, President and CEO
  • STS Telecom – Keith Kramer, Executive Vice President

Medium Member Category

  • Alpheus Communications – Paul Hobby, Chairman and CEO
  • Hypercube – Ron Beaumont, Founder and CEO
  • Lightyear Network Solutions – J. Sherman Henderson III, President and CEO
  • Zayo Group – Scott E. Beer, General Counsel
  • Zone Telecom – Dan Boynton, President and CEO

Large Member Category

  • Cbeyond – Julia Strow, Co-Founder
  • Covad Communications – Doug Carlen, Senior Vice President and General Counsel
  • EarthLink (New Edge Networks) – Penny H. Bewick, Vice President – External Affairs
  • Sprint – Dan Dooley, President, Sprint Wholesale Solutions
  • tw telecom – Don Shepheard, Vice President, Federal Regulatory Affairs and Policy

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


As a budget line item, how are staff salaries trending in your company for 2019?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
The ID is: 81086