FCC Gets New Chair: Genachowski Confirmed by Senate

After the vote was held up for more than a week, Julius Genachowski was confirmed by the U.S. Senate as the next chairman of the FCC.

Once sworn in, Genachowski is expected to preside over the July 2 meeting. Acting Chairman Michael Copps will to commissioner status.

The re-nomination of Republican Commissioner Robert McDowell also was confirmed. McDowell will serve his first full term. He replaced former FCC Chairman Michael Powell mid-term.

Two seats in the five-member body remain open. Mignon Clyburn, a member of South Carolina’s Public Service Commission and daughter of House Majority Whip James Clyburn, D-S.C., is President Obama’s pick to replace Jonathan Adelstein, a Democrat, who is leaving the agency for a post at the USDA’s Rural Utilities Service. And, former NTIA acting head Meredith Attwell Baker is expected to be nominated to fill the Republican seat. Hearings on both nominations are expected next month.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


As a budget line item, how are staff salaries trending in your company for 2019?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
The ID is: 78830