CompTIA Modifies Security Certification

The Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA) today announced the availability of new objectives for its CompTIA Security+ certification. Publication of 2008 Edition objectives, which detail the content of the certification exam, is a prelude to the launch of an updated CompTIA Security+ scheduled for the fourth quarter of 2008.

The update places greater emphasis on knowing how to address specific security issues, rather than simply being able to recognize these issues.

The new exam will cover six areas: Systems Security, Network Infrastructure, Cryptography, Organizational Security, Access Control, and Assessments and Audits, with the last two areas being new additions to the exam.

A 2008 CompTIA-commissioned survey of more than 2,000 individuals with responsibilities for information security found that more organizations are requiring security certifications such as CompTIA Security+ for their IT staff.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


As a budget line item, how are staff salaries trending in your company for 2019?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
The ID is: 76955