ATIS Hands out Annual Awards

The Alliance for Telecommunications Solutions (ATIS) today announced the winners of its annual awards program, recognizing industry subject matter experts for their contributions to telecommunications standards development and support of ATIS committees and forums.

The professionals and standards experts that make up ATIS 23 standards committees and forums are among the most talented and dedicated individuals I know, said Susan M. Miller, president and CEO of ATIS in her introductory remarks. For the vast majority of ATIS participants, standards work is not their full-time responsibility back home, yet they dedicate long hours and hard work to help support their companies. Thats because standards play such an integral role in the current and future success of their companies and organizations.

Awards were given in three categories: the ATIS Award for Distinguished Service in Communications Standards; the ATIS Award for Leadership in Standards Development; and the Award for Outstanding Contributions to an ATIS Forum or Committee.

The recipient of the Distinguished Service Award is given to a committee or forum participant for unique and outstanding contributions to the work of ATIS committees over a period of time. Persons receiving this award are those who have participated in ATIS committees for five or more years. The 2005 recipient is Neil Seitz of the National Telecommunications and Information Administration of the U.S. Department of Commerce for his more than 20 years of participation in ATIS committees.

ATIS says his leadership has assisted with more than three dozen American national standards and technical reports, and he has authored or co-authored at least 100 U.S. contributions to the International Telecommunication Union.

The recipient of the ATIS Award for Leadership in Standards Development is an ATIS forum or committee leader whose vision and leadership have resulted in support for ATIS standards and recognition of ATIS committee work within the industry. This years award goes to Mike Fargano of Qwest Communications International Inc. for leadership that has enabled the timely completion of necessary industry standards in both the Emergency Services Interconnection Forum and the Telecom Management and Operations Committee.

The Award for Outstanding Contributions to an ATIS Forum or Committee is presented to individuals who have provided valuable contributions to the completion of ATIS standards that meet industry needs. Recipients have demonstrated significant efforts to support acceptance and use of ATIS standards throughout the industry. The following ATIS participants received this years award: Jay Bennett, Telcordia; Stephanie Cowart, BellSouth Corp.; Robert H. Fox, Telcordia; Steven Gorshe, PMC-Sierra, Inc.; Stuart Jacobs, Verizon; Nevin R. Jones, Agere Systems, Inc.; Steve Moore, Sprint; Penn Pfautz; AT&T; Niranjan Sandesara; Telcordia; Robert Sherry; Intrado; Dana W. Smith, Verizon; Massimo Sorbara, Conexant; David Whitney, BellSouth; and Mark S. Yelchak, SBC Communications Inc.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The ID is: 74118