Senate Confirms FCC Nominees

The Senate last night confirmed Deborah T. Tate as the FCCs newest Republican commissioner, and re-appointed Michael J. Copps, a Democrat who has served on the commission since 2001.

In another late-night session, senators approved President Bushs two nominations by voice vote, Reuters reported.

Tates term will expire in June 2007. She most recently has served as director of the Tennessee Regulatory Authority.

Copps terms will expire in 2010. He has ardently pushed for ubiquitous broadband deployment, especially in Indian tribal lands, rural areas and inner cities.

Bush still must nominate one more person to fill the seat vacated by former FCC Chairman Michael Powell.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>


In our Channel Influencer Awards digital issue, we highlighted eight technologies ready to "take off" in the channel this year. Which two will take off the most?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
The ID is: 74247